Who’s That Peekin’ In My Window?

I remember the first time I saw the video for Maxwell’s “‘Til The Cops Come Knockin’“. It was on BET’s Next or Now or what ever was on at 2:00pm back in the mid-90s.* And I thought to myself, “He is fine. I would let him “lock me up in love for days”. But that was before I realized… this cat is describing a kidnapping and the awesome sex is most likely the result of a newly acquired case of Stockholm Syndrome.

One sexy felon...

Yes, he’s fine… but he’s also one “craaazy, deraaanged” muhfucka…
(c) Martin Lawrence

 

Since then, I’ve noticed that quite a number of popular “love” songs are similarly disturbing:

Mariah Carey – “Always Be My Baby”… Stalker

                       “We Belong Together”Stalker (Damn, Mimi)

Heather Headley – “In My Mind”Delusional stalker.

Alicia Keys – “Fallin'”… Abusive relationship anyone?

                    “You Don’t Know My Name“… Bold stalker

D’Angelo – “Shit, Damn, Motherfucker”Murderous rage-aholic

Bilal – “Sometimes”He goes from occasionally regretting his drug habit to justifying domestic violence

Oran “Juice” Jones – “The Rain”This doesn’t really fit but I just needed an excuse to do this…

 

I know I left some out…

What’s your favorite “stalker” song?

 

*This was before BET became the cultural whore it is today. Back when Teen Summit was still on the air and YSB was still in circulation.

~ by Deviant on April 25, 2008.

7 Responses to “Who’s That Peekin’ In My Window?”

  1. These are some of my favorites actually. Which will just go to show how f’n crazy I am myself.

    “Anytime” – Brian McKnight (if you have to ask a girl if she’s thinking about you…well, you know how the sentence ends

    “Emotional” – Carl Thomas (speaks for itself)

    “Wasting My Time” – Taryn Manning (letting someone ufk with your mind is stupid and very masochistic

    “I’m Going Down (remake)” – Mary J. Blige (seriously? get a hobby)

    “Feenin'” – Jodeci (dude, masturbate and smoke a blunt. if possible at the same time)

    I could go on. But you get the point. BTW you are officially linked.

  2. ROTFLMAO! I will co-sign all of these and add “Don’t Be Afraid” by Aaron Hall (“You can yell and you can hit me/It just makes me more horny” and No need to run and no need to hide/All the doors are locked baby and I have you inside/You can yell and you can hit me, it just makes me more horny….” WHAT?

  3. @ Jarrod – Thanks for the link. And I started to put “Anytime” and “Feenin'” on there but I’m glad you did. I don’t think I’ve heard that Taryn Manning song is that the same Taryn Manning that always typecast as being a little slow and trashy in movies?

    @Sister T – LMAO… I forgot all about that. And he actually did go to prison for rape, didn’t he? I wonder if that was before or after the song… Creepy.

  4. … this cat is describing a kidnapping and the awesome sex is most likely the result of a newly acquired case of Stockholm Syndrome.”
    LMAO! I never thought about loves songs like this (cause if you look at it, being “in love” makes you a little bit crazy)

    For old school:

    “You Ought To Be With Me”- Al Green
    Lyrics:

    I’m trying to realize,
    you being with some other guy,
    I don’t know the reason why,
    you ought to be with me until I die

    This is still my jam though…

    With that said, I like:

    “Don’t Be Afraid”- Faith Evans (the title is a little scary in itself)
    Lyrics: Giving you all my love
    I never want to be without you
    I don’t know what I’d do
    Cause you make me happy so boy
    Don’t be afraid of my love

  5. @ Monnie,
    Being “in love” is the very definition of crazy.

  6. Yep! That’s her!

  7. Her speaking voice is barely tolerable. Why would someone pay her to sing?

Leave a Reply

 
