In Perfect Harmony (I’d like to buy the world a Coke)…

So this one time, after months of watching those commercials and humming “This Will Be…”, I went to e-Harmony for my “free” compatibility profile. (Just for fun… Yeah, fun.. right) It was the longest survey I have ever taken mostly because its a bunch of radio buttons measuring whether you are very ambitious or not at all a good listener. It took me like 15 minutes. If you’re feeling bored later, try it (as if you haven’t already).

The uncanny thing was how accurate my ideal match was. Not one actual conversation with a live human being and I have my dream date saved on my computer as an MDI file. I just thought about posting it as a blog but thought better of that idea as there are those of you who will read this and might be wondering why I was on e-Harmony in the first place. Hmmm… MYOB!

It’s a shame when sane, normal-looking folk have to surf the web to find a mate. What happened to the good old days when people used to actually meet in person? When did we stop meeting people and start searching for them online? I guess when block parties, community pinics and other local family oriented events became nonexistent.

I remember being young and making eyes at some dude that came to the family picnic with a cousin or a friend. I remember being stopped in the park or at the bodega around the way and being asked for my number. I remember talking to friends of friends (because people had actual friends and not e-mail or IM buddies) out on the stoop in the thick balmy nights of FL. It reminds me of Jill Scott “Do You Remember “…

I miss that feeling. It makes me wanna revolt and throw a block party or do something really unheard of like walk up to a stranger and say “Hello”.

~ by Deviant on May 30, 2008.

One Response to “In Perfect Harmony (I’d like to buy the world a Coke)…”

  1. If you throw a block party I will come!

Leave a Reply

 
